G'day (I am a newbie) - some thoughts on this one

New to VWs or just new to Split Busses? Want to know more? This page is for people thinking about, or just getting into splits - ask your questions, get some free advice, members always happy to help out.

Moderators: warb, Rawdyn, Leroy, byronbus, Tonz Magonz, dmb

dabs
Newly Converted

G'day (I am a newbie) - some thoughts on this one

Post by dabs »

Hi,

New to the site and seriously considering purchasing a split screen to rebuild. Love the site, so much information freely given...that’s cool.

Found this on eBay which i'm sure has probably already been discussed, could those with experience in what there looking at tell me their thoughts....is it a goer for one who is limited in skill but willing to learn?

The bus itself doesn’t look to bad..... there doesn’t appear to :?: be rust in those typical areas i have seen in other buses.....the barn doors look to be the only real concern.

Any feed back would be appreciated.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Volkswagen-Kombi ... 3efe4db20c

Cheers
martinigreenbus
DSKer

Post by martinigreenbus »

looks like a pretty dry unit to me.... so far the price is not exhorbitant....

It's always better to start with the cleanest one you can afford, but if you are keen you should go and have a look.
zeuspig
DSKer

Post by zeuspig »

Definitely go for a look before you bid. Even if there are small rust bubbles you can be sure to find a hell of alot more under it as they rust from the inside out.

But from the pics it looks ok, but pics never really show the full extent until you get in there and have a good look.

Welcome to the site.
MISS VDUB
DSKer

Post by MISS VDUB »

PS: It doesn't have barn door, they're cargo doors

Doesn't look too bad, have you factored in how much you want to spend on a resto?
dabs
Newly Converted

Post by dabs »

thanks to all for responding appreciate it.